| This is how walking down the street looked today. Not fair! :( |
School has kept me pretty busy this week, so after finishing my daily homework, Anissa and I took the subway back home to relax (and warm up)! My host dad, Freddy, had let me borrow a movie last week, so I decided this would be the perfect day to cuddle up in a blanket and watch it. "El Artista" was a very interesting movie! It is an Argentine movie, made and directed here in Buenos Aires and has won many awards and Oscars. It is an independently made movie...which was kind of obvious, as it was not like any "Oscar-winning" American movies! However obscure and awkward a few of the shots may have been, the plot was fun to follow: a male nurse "stole" art made by one of his patients and became rich and famous off of them. In the end, (spoiler alert!) the patient died of course, and the nurse is left to try live as an artist without being able to draw!
| Spanish Movie Night! |
For dinner tonight, we had guiso: a traditional Argentine dish/stew that typically contains meat and vegetables. Ours was made of pasta in a light, red sauce with little chicken legs. Freddy and Cecilia said it was a good dish for winter and would warm us up!
| Similar to the Guiso of tonight's dinner |
Overall, I think the guiso did it's warming-up job, except for the fact all the windows are always kept open here...brr! I don't understand; it's freezing outside, the house is so cold, and yet...the windows stay open! This is not just a weird habit of my host family either- a lot of ISA students in my class complain about the same thing in their host homes! Anissa and I tried to close the bathroom window (because nothing is worse than stepping out of a barely lukewarm shower, into a 40 degree bathroom), but the window just won't shut! I really wish I would have brought a sweatshirt for sleeping in, but so far wrapping myself up tight in a heavy blanket has been doing the trick! The other dilemma lately is laundry: Anissa and I gave our laundry to Cecilia on Sunday, as instructed. Here it is, Wednesday night, and we still don't have it back. I stupidly put all my jeans in the wash; for the past 2 days I wore tights and a skirt, and luckily Anissa let me borrow a pair of her pants for today, since it was sooo cold out! I believe we're supposed to get laundry back tomorrow, but next time, I'm not putting all my pants in the wash at once! Lesson learned! Haha!
No comments:
Post a Comment